Stephanie’s Sustainable Tip #7

Make your own dog treats.

As you can see from the picture, my 17 year old dog, Tootsie, takes a lot of medication.  Luckily, she’s a trooper and doesn’t fight it.  Probably because she realizes medication time is also treat time.  I use them as “pill pockets” mainly.

 

Here is the recipe I use modified from a recipe my mom gave me:

2 cups rolled oats

4 tbsp applesauce

2-3 tsp honey

enough peanut butter to clump everything together – I start with 1/2 cup and add more if needed

Preheat oven (I use my toaster oven) to 350 degrees Fahrenheit while you roll out the treats. Bake 25 minutes and leave out to cool.  Then store them in your favorite air-tight container.  I store mine at room temperature.

 

Cost: This costs me less than $5 every 3-4 weeks.  I only give my dog 3 a day, so they last a while.  But then again, she’s an 8.5 pound dog.  You could definitely make them bigger for a larger dog, or use them as training treats.  Make them more ecofriendly by choosing ingredients that you can buy in bulk or in glass jars.

dogtreats

 

Go to Sustainable Tip #6                                                                                                     Go to Sustainable Tip #8

2 thoughts on “Stephanie’s Sustainable Tip #7

Leave a Reply

