More-vember

Forget making a New Year’s resolution and start doing more now.

Be more sustainable.

Check out my sustainable tips…more coming soon!

I walked to the grocery store for the first time this week.  I should do that more often.  Beats trying to find a parking spot.

Be more open to change.

Six months ago I wrote how I was being more sustainable with my hair regime.  My new sustainable hair wash is Greek olive oil soap that I purchased from the Greek festival here in Charlotte this year.  Unfortunately, it is individually wrapped in plastic, but I can use it for my body and hair, it doesn’t make my hair greasy and it smells awesome without added fragrances.  However, the longer my hair gets, the harder it is to wash out especially near the nape of my neck.  This means the water is running longer in the shower.  So this month I’m chopping my hair off again.  It’s been 4-5 years since my hair has been above my shoulders.  But my brain is telling me it’s time to go short again.  I used to style my hair straight when I had it short, but this time I’m going to try to wear it more natural.  I’m a bit nervous about this.

Bye bye, hair

Bye bye, hair

Be more forgiving.

Having an elderly dog is frustrating especially when it uses your house as a bathroom 90% of the time.  However, I love Tootsie even on her bad days.

Be more giving, you might learn something.

This doesn’t have to cost you money.  Two weekends ago I stayed with my dad (who has vascular dementia) so that my mom could go visit her brother who has aggressive laryngeal cancer.  I canceled plans I had with my husband to do this for my mom.  This was a no-brainer.  And I got to learn some things about my dad’s life growing up and how he was lucky not to have been sent to Vietnam during the war.

I found another non-profit to support in my own neighborhood.  It’s called The Relatives.  I donated some art supplies and closet hangers to their clients today.

Be more adventurous.

Try something new this month.  I’m going to try a new hobby – candle making.  In an effort to do it as eco-friendly as possible, I plan to use 100% beeswax and cotton wicks and use pieces of pottery that I already have lying around the house from my stint as an amateur thrower as the containers.

 

Monthly clothing perge:

This month, I’m getting rid of a coat that I’ve only been wearing about once a year, usually to go to a winter cocktail party.  I have another coat I wear more often and can use instead that looks just as nice.

IMG_20151116_172507807

 

What I’m Reading:

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski, recommended by Nothing Mundane

 

Leave a Reply

