What a Week!


This has been a wonderful week!

On Wednesday, I celebrated my 32nd birthday by receiving a box of chocolates from my favorite Charlotte chocolate shop, The Secret Chocolatier and going out to dinner to my new favorite sushi restaurant, Ru San’s.  And I found out 2 weeks ago that I can still jog a mile without stopping….in 90+ degree weather.

On Thursday, James and I attended our second Michael Franti and Spearhead concert at The Fillmore.  I don’t know if James notices (if he does he doesn’t say anything), but I always tear up at least twice at these concerts.  Michael Franti concerts are extremely family friendly and for all ages.  There was this cute girl who got up on stage to sing The Sound of Sunshine with him, she danced around the stage with her own microphone and knew all the words (enter tears).  I would be disappointed if I ever went to a concert of his and he didn’t play our wedding song, Say Hey! (I Love You) (enter more tears), but I feel this is unlikely because this is the time during his concerts when all the kids can get up on stage.  I highly recommend Michael Franti concerts if you like upbeat, fun music that spreads a message of love and peace.  Just remember to wear something comfortable and bring your jumping shoes!

Also on Thursday, the Supreme Court ruled in favor of keeping federal health care subsidies for those who qualify under the Affordable Care Act.  This is important.  There are too many people not receiving the care they need because they can’t afford health insurance.

Then on Friday, the Supreme Court ruled that same-sex marriage is now a Constitutional right in the United States!  #LoveWins

IMG_4759

If you don’t love pets, then you might find the next paragraph very confusing, especially if you don’t have conversations with animals using another human as a gateway.

James and I have had a running joke for the last 5 years.  We decided that our cat, Caesar, felt strongly about marriage equality.  So much so, that Caesar refused to call me “Mom” when James and I got married because he wasn’t going to officially recognize our marriage until same-sex marriage was also legal for all Americans.  For the last 5 years, Caesar has referred to me as “Future Mom”, knowing that eventually same-sex marriage would be legal and that in the future I would be his “Mom”.  Last night, Caesar was talking to me and called me “Future Mom” because both of us forgot to tell him about the Supreme Court decision.  So, we sat him down and broke the news.  (Read: I chased him around yelling “Give me a hug!” until I finally caught him.)  I am now “Regular Mom.”

What Just Finished Reading: Plastic Purge by Michael SanClements

What I’m about to start reading: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

