Kitchen Sink Pizza Night

Nowadays, as we are constantly preparing to sell our house, I am always looking for ways to use up what we have stored in our pantry and refrigerator. image I keep reading how “use by” or “best by” dates are not always accurate and how sometimes you can keep the food longer.  However, when I open up a jar of sauerkraut that I know I bought 2 summers ago and it doesn’t smell appetizing, it’s time to throw it away.

I’m trying to see this as not only an opportunity to reduce the number of things we will have to eventually pack up but as a chance to practice reducing food waste.  One of the things I’ve been thinking about is starting up a garden again once we move.  I’m hoping that the houses closer to the city experience less visits from deer and rabbits.

On Saturday, we bought a growler of Ramble on Red from NoDa Brewing and the ingredients to make pizza.  I used up a yellow pepper I had used for lunch last week, the rest of a jar of kalamata olives and some of the spinach we bought to use for one of our dinners this week.  James bought pepperoni…typical.

image_8

Notice the line of demarcation between the meat and vegetarian parts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And when there is food involved, there is always a cat involved.

And when there is food involved, there is always a cat involved.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh out of the oven!

Fresh out of the oven!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Homemade pizza and Charlotte beer!

Homemade pizza and Charlotte beer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our refrigerator and pantry have always looked empty compared to everyone else’s.  I’ve always steered clear of buying in bulk because we don’t have the storage room and we already waste more food than I wish to. Though sometimes we have to be creative with snacks when we are hungry because there isn’t much in the house to eat.

I’m still finding items to donate, even after practicing minimalism for over a year.  I’ve got 10 more bags of clothes and linens that we haven’t worn or used in over a year that will be donated this week.  I look forward to keeping you updated on how we are staging the house and what we are learning through the process of selling our first house!

New recipe shares:

Eggless Chocolate CookiesBang Bang Shrimp Pasta

What I’m reading: Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

 

More items for donation!

More items for donation!

 

Leave a Reply

