Winter Showdown: Procrastination vs. Productiveness

Winter is my least favorite time of the year.  I dislike having less hours of sunlight.  I dislike the cold weather.  And I dislike the way the season makes me procrastinate.

Even Caesar likes to cuddle in the winter

Even Caesar likes to cuddle in the winter

I have so few things on my to-do list right now, and I’m not motivated to do them.  Usually the problem is that I have so many things to do that I don’t do any of them because I don’t know where to start.  I know that if I put my mind to it I could get them done in a couple of days.  We were even 3 weeks late buying a birthday card for one of our nieces!

One of the greatest things in my life is my dog, Tootsie, who adds to my procrastination, especially in the winter.  There’s nothing like coming home to a warm, cuddly dog in the winter.  She is usually asking to get up on the couch before I’ve finished my after-work routine (coat off, mail sorted, lunch box/water bottle put away, trip to the bathroom, cleaning up pet messes).  All she wants to do is nap right up against my leg, which feels awesomely warm.  And who knows how many hours left I’ll have cuddling up next to her.  So shouldn’t I take advantage of every minute?

Procrastination doesn’t help get the house ready to sell, though.  We did have some good conversations with my sister-in-law and her fiance this past weekend who just bought a house.  They’ve convinced us that we don’t have to fix every cosmetic detail before putting the house on the market.  Who knows, maybe the next person to buy our house wants to renovate it anyway?  Why spend our money on something that might be ripped down?  That said, I really do think I should paint over those patches in the dining room that have been sitting there for months after I moved the curtain rods.  I have the paint anyway, right?  Or I could sit here writing this post with a warm dog next to me.

The one thing I feel like I’ve been more productive doing these past weeks is reorganizing my work life.  I’m in the process of transitioning from floating around the Charlotte area and 3 surrounding towns to being in one location in Charlotte.  One reason for this move includes burning out driving outside of Charlotte.  I figure I can use all those extra hours that I would otherwise spend driving to 1) be with my dog more, 2) get back to exercising on a regular basis, 3) study for a certification that I want to get and 4) spend more time on hobbies.  By not driving as much I will also save on gas.  Even though I drive a Prius, if I drive the farthest distance to work everyday I have to fill that tiny tank up twice a week.  Yay to being more eco-friendly!

 

One thought on “Winter Showdown: Procrastination vs. Productiveness

Leave a Reply

